Home Banner

How A Development Project Is Scored

There are 9 categories under which a project can score points towards a Sustainable Homes Assessment (CSH).  It is a complicated system invloving 'scoring' points (see below for an explanation) in order to get to a code level assessment.

Once the total points are calculated and the relevant weighting factors applied, the project can be given its code level.  A Code for Sustainable Homes Assessment (CSH) rates a property on a level of 1 – 6. Each level having a minimum number of credits per level as follows:

36 Points:             Level 1 (*)

48 points:             Level2 (**)

57 Points             Level 3 (***)

68 Points             Level 4 (****)

84 Points             Level 5 (*****)

90 Points             Level 6 (******)

To avoid a headache if you want to make sure your development project complies with the CSH, get in touch with us. You can telephone or use our enquiry form.

The 9 Categories of a CSH

Each category can contribute a maximum weighting factor for each category for up to the overall percentage of the final score. These, along with the points for each element are as follows:

Energy: Weighting factor 36.4

ENE 1: Dwelling Emission Rate Improvement  : the results taken from the SAP calculation required for Part L - 10

ENE2: Fabric Energy Efficiency : Also taken from Part L SAP calculations -9

ENE3: Energy Display Device:  -2

ENE4: Drying Space -1

ENE5: Energy White Labelled Goods -2

ENE6: External Lighting -2

ENE7: Low and Zero Carbon Technologies -2

ENE8: Cycle Storage -2

ENE9: Home Office -1

Water: Weighting factor 9

WAT 1: Indoor Water Usage  -5

WAT 2: Outdoor Water Usage : -1

Materials: Weighting factor 7.2

            Mat 1: Environmental Impact of Materials: -15

Mat 2: Responsible Sourcing of Basic Materials : -6

Mat 3: Responsible Sourcing of Finishing Materials: -3

Surface Water Run Off: Weighting factor 2.2

SUR1: Management of Surface water run-off from developments :  -2

SUR2 : Flood Risk:             -2

Waste: Weighting factor 6.4

WAS 1: Storage of non-recylable waste and recyclable household waste : -4

WAS2: Construction Site Waste Management: -3

WAS 3 Composting: -1

Pollution: Weighting factor 2.8

POL1: Global Warming of insulants: -1

POL2: NOx Emissions: -3

Health & Well-Being: Weighting factor 14

HEA 1: Daylighting: -3

HEA2: Sound Insulation: -4

HEA3: Private Space: -1

HEA4: Lifetime Homes: -4

Management: Weighting factor 10

MAN 1: Home User Guide: -3

MAN 2: Considerate Constructors Scheme: -2

MAN 3: Construction Site Impacts: -2

MAN 4 Security: -2

Ecology: Weighting factor 12

ECO1: Ecological Value of Site :-1

ECO 2: Ecological Enhancement of Site : -1

ECO 3: Protection of Ecological Species :  -1

ECO 4: Change in Ecological Value of Site : -4

ECO 5: Building Footprint:  -2

Some elements are mandatory but carry no credits. For example, there is a mandatory requirement for WAS 1, to provide an adequate and accessible space for storing household waste. No points are available for meeting this, but without it, the project would become a Level 0, even if it was a zero carbon house.

Other elements are required if certain Levels are to be achieved. E.g. if Level 4 is to be sought, then ENE1 must show a ≥25% improvement on the 2010 Part L DER/ TER.

Remaining credits then become tradeable depending on what Code Level is to be met and what the client wants in the property. Some elements are relatively easy to meet, e.g.  ENE 9 for a home office can be met by nominating a bedroom, providing there is enough daylight, and certain power, ventilation and telephone provision is met. Other credits such as Man 3 would be very time consuming for a small developer or self builder to achieve, and though would generally be ignored if level 3 was being targeted.